Skip to content

Advent Calendar

2012 November 29
by heather

Last year, I mentioned that I wanted to make my own magnetic tin Advent calendar. Before Christmas decorations were put away I did just that. I was so glad to pull it out with all of our other decorations this year and get them up on our fridge.

We want the anticipation of Christmas to be full of merriment, wonder, and awe, but also to have a reflective element as well. There is joy and worship in both approaches, so we hope to find a blend that works well for our family.

{ via }

This year, we are pairing a family activity with a story from the Jesus Storybook Bible. There are twenty-one stories it in from the Old Testament—each ending with a paragraph that ties in to the imminent birth of Jesus—and then three stories from the New Testament leading up to (and surrounding) the birth story of Jesus.

Here is our list of what we’ll be doing and reading each day:

Saturday, Dec. 1: 

  • Watch a cute video of kids acting out the Christmas story of Jesus’s birth.
  • Read: The Story & the Song from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Sunday, Dec. 2: 

  • Get a Christmas tree!
  • Read: The beginning: a perfect home from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Monday, Dec. 3: 

  • Decorate the Christmas tree.
  • Read: The terrible lie from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Tuesday, Dec. 4: 

  • Set up and talk through the manger scene (Fisher Price set).
  • Read: A new beginning from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Wednesday, Dec. 5: 

  • Make green and red play dough.
  • Read: A giant staircase to heaven from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Thursday, Dec. 6: 

  • Sing some Christmas songs (Away in the Manger, O Holy Night, Silent Night)
  • Read: Son of laughter from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Friday, Dec. 7:

  • Pick out five toys to give to other kids.
  • Read: The present from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Saturday, Dec. 8:

  • Bring toys to other kids who have to be at the hospital.
  • Read: The girl no one wanted from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Sunday, Dec. 9:

  • Watch the Charlie Brown Christmas movie and eat popcorn.
  • Read: The forgiving prince from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Monday, Dec. 10: 

  • Shop for a child in a need. (Bring to church on Sunday.)
  • Read: God to the rescue! from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Tuesday, Dec. 11:

Wednesday, Dec. 12: 

  • Make pine cone trees with pom poms.

{ via }

  • Read: Ten ways to be perfect from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Thursday, Dec. 13: 

  • Drive to a store that has a Salvation Army bell ringer just to donate (without going into the store to buy anything!).
  • Read: The warrior leader from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Friday, Dec. 14: 

  • Make Christmas tree craft.

{ via } 

  • Read: The teeny, weenie… true king from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Saturday, Dec. 15: 

  • Sing some more Christmas songs! (Hark the Herald Angels Sing, Little Drummer Boy, We Wish You a Merry Christmas)
  • Read: The young hero & the horrible giant from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Sunday, Dec. 16: 

  • Make cookies and read all of our Christmas books together.
  • Read: The Good Shepherd from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Monday, Dec. 17: 

  • Take a plate of cookies and a homemade Christmas card to our library and church office. Have a plate ready for the mailman, too!
  • Read: A little servant girl & the proud general from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Tuesday, Dec. 18: 

  • Make glitter reindeer or tree art.

{ via }

  • Read: Operation “No More Tears!” from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Wednesday, Dec. 19: 

  • Make chocolate covered pretzels and white chocolate treats.
  • Read: Daniel & the scary sleepover from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Thursday, Dec. 20: 

  • Bring treats to our neighbors.
  • Read: God’s messenger from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Friday, Dec. 21: 

  • Go see a Christmas show! (at our church)
  • Read: Get ready! from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Saturday, Dec. 22: 

  • Hop in the car in your pajamas and drive around to look at the Christmas lights.
  • Read: He’s here from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Sunday, Dec. 23: 

  • Make Christmas morning breakfast (Overnight French Toast).
  • Read: The Light of the whole world from the Jesus Storybook Bible

Monday, Dec. 24: 

  • Eat an extra yummy breakfast together and open two presents from Mama and Daddy.
  • Read: The King of all kings from the Jesus Storybook Bible

The dates may change depending on what else we have going on each day, but I’m so excited to be doing these things with Analiese this year…and Hayden Kate in future years.

One Response leave one →
  1. Krysta permalink
    November 29, 2012

    This is great!

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS